YURY DARMAN

Director of WWF-Russia Amur Branch, Ph.D. (Biology)

Homeland, global ecoregion and his lifetime project: for Yury Darman these concepts have merged into one word — Amur. Accomplished wildlife biologist, for 35 years he worked on the creation of Amur ecoregion system of Special Protected Natural Areas. Through his involvement, Nora Nature Reserve, Land of the Leopard National Park, and more than 10 game reserves appeared on the map. In general, thanks to WWF projects under his direction, protected area of Amur ecoregion increased by 5.2 million hectares!

Darman-Priamurskiy, as this tireless explorer, adventurer and romantic is known among friends, walked the Amur shores for miles around, from the source to the mouth of the river. Before joining WWF, Yury rose from research assistant to the Deputy Director for Science of Khingan Nature Reserve. He worked in the Amur Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences, was a member of the regional Duma, and in 1994 he created the Amur Socio-Ecological Union, the first public environmental organization in Blagoveshchensk, administrative center of Amur Oblast.

Being natural born leader, he took the lead of the WWF branch in Vladivostok in 2001. Yury was able to combine environmental projects into one ecoregional program, which covered five territorial entities of the Russian Federation and was supported by non-governmental organizations, scientists, and government authorities. As a result, about one billion rubles were invested to the conservation of the Far Eastern nature by foreign donors. Darman is a chairman and head of various scientific and social councils and task groups. He is the author of over 200 research papers, including nine monographs.

 

In 2006, the Russian Ministry of Natural Resources awarded Yury Darman with the «Honored Worker of Conservation of Nature» title. In 2012, he received Fred Packard award for his courage in protecting the national parks. And in 2013, Darman became one of the few leaders of non-governmental organizations who were awarded the title of the «Honored ecologist of the Russian Federation.»

Join us on social media

Instagram
Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.
Еще...

Дарман Юрий Александрович

Советник директора Амурского филиала WWF, кандидат биологических наук

Малая родина, глобальный экорегион и дело жизни — эти понятия для Юрия Дармана соединились в одном слове — Амур. Биолог-охотовед, кандидат биологических наук, он уже 35 лет занимается созданием системы особо охраняемых природных территорий Амурского экорегиона. При его участии на карте появились Норский заповедник, нацпарк «Земля Леопарда», более десяти заказников. В целом же, в рамках проектов WWF под руководством Юрия Дармана, площадь ООПТ Амурского экорегиона увеличилась на 5,2 млн га!

Дарман-Приамурский, так нередко называют друзья этого неутомимого исследователя, путешественника и романтика, исходившего Амур от истоков до устья. До работы в WWF Юрий прошёл школу Хинганского заповедника от младшего научного сотрудника до замдиректора по науке, работал в Амурском научном центре ДВО РАН, был депутатом областной Думы, а в 1994 г. создал Амурский социально-экологический союз, первую в Благовещенске общественную экологическую организацию.

Безусловный лидер, он возглавил отделение WWF во Владивостоке в 2001 г. Юрий сумел объединить природоохранные проекты в экорегиональную программу, которая охватила пять субъектов РФ и получила поддержку неправительственных организаций, учёных и органов власти. В результате на охрану природы Дальнего Востока удалось привлечь около миллиарда рублей зарубежных инвестиций. Дарман является председеталем и руководителем разных научно-общественных советов и рабочих групп. Он автор более 200 научных работ, включая девять монографий.

 

В 2006 г. Минприроды России присвоило Юрию звание «Почетный работник охраны природы». В 2012 г. он получил «Международную награду Фреда Паккарда за мужество в деле охраны национальных парков». А в 2013 г. Дарману, одному из немногих лидеров общественных организаций, было присвоено высокое звание «Заслуженный эколог РФ».

Присоединяйтесь к нам в социальных сетях

Instagram
Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.
Еще...